When clicking on a folder, “Search Results” opens


I was trying to install Windows 7 transformation on my Windows XP, but finally I did not like it at all. The fonts and interfaces are dull compared to the real Windows 7 interface. Then I uninstalled Windows 7 transformation, which already replaced some of the system files, that’s obvious!

I got my original Windows XP interface but with some modified icons for folders and some system files. Unfortunately while clicking on a folder, the Search Results window was opening, which irritated me a lot. I made a search on Google to overcome this problem and found the following solution which worked in some simple steps only:

  • Click Start, Run and type Regedit.exe
  • Navigate to the following branch >>  HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell
  • In the right-pane, double-click the (default) entry
  • Type the word none and press Enter
  • Close Regedit.exe
Leave a Reply

